Skip to content

6 Washington colleges named to national Achieving the Dream leader list

September 26, 2014 by Katie Rose

OLYMPIA, Wash. – Six Washington colleges were named yesterday to the Achieving the Dream (AtD) list of leader colleges. Three colleges – Highline College (Des Moines), Renton Technical College and Tacoma Community College – were recertified as AtD leader colleges. They were among 16 colleges across the country which received this status. Three others – Everett Community College, Lower Columbia College (Longview) and Pierce College (Pierce County) – received the leader college status for the first time. All Washington colleges which applied for the leader college status were accepted by AtD.

As leaders, the six colleges proved their dedication to the success of their students while finding ways to close achievement gaps in student learning. AtD is a national non-profit organization that works with community and technical colleges to help students stay in school and earn a college degree or certificate. The organization focuses on the achievement of students of color and of low income.

Leader colleges maintain that status for three years. After three years, AtD requires them to follow a recertification process to keep the leader college status. AtD has granted the leader status to 79 colleges since 2009.

The colleges named to the leader college list had to meet AtD standards for measuring improvements in student progress and certificate and degree completions. The Washington colleges also used the state-developed Student Achievement Initiative to measure their progress, a framework that aligns with AtD’s mission to improve student success. Under the initiative, colleges earn “points” as their students reach key academic milestones. Colleges are awarded a portion of their funding based on point earnings instead of just the number of students enrolled.

The 13 other colleges named to the 2014 leader list are:

  • Amarillo College (Amarillo, Texas)
  • East Lost Angeles College (Monterey Park, Calif.)
  • Eastern Maine Community College (Bangor, ME)
  • Jackson College (Jackson, Miss.)
  • Jefferson Community and Technical College (Louisville, Ky.)
  • Lane Community College (Eugene, Ore.)
  • Los Angeles Harbor College (Wilmington, Calif.)
  • Northeast Wisconsin Technical College (Green Bay, Wis.)
  • Oklahoma City Community College (Oklahoma City, Okla.)
  • Passaic County Community College (Paterson, N.J.)
  • Pierce College (Woodland Hills, Calif.)
  • Richland College (Dallas, Texas)
  • Rose State College (Midwest City, Okla.)

The 13 other colleges receiving leader college status recertification are:

  • Bunker Hill Community College (Boston, Mass.)
  • College of the Mainland (Texas City, Texas)
  • Community College of Beaver County (Monaca, Pa.)
  • Community College of Philadelphia (Philadelphia, Pa.)
  • Delaware County Community College (Media, Pa.)
  • Galveston College (Galveston, Texas)
  • Lee College (Baytown, Texas)
  • Montgomery County Community College (Bluebell, Pa.)
  • Northern Essex Community College (Haverhill, Mass.)
  • Phillips Community College of the University of Arkansas (Helena-West Helena, Ark.)
  • Roxbury Community College (Roxbury Crossing, Mass.)
  • San Jacinto College (Pasadena, Texas)
  • Westmoreland County Community College (Youngwood, Pa.)
Last Modified: 6/18/18 3:43 PM
starburst graphic