# Bylaws of the Business Affairs Commission of the Washington Association of Community and Technical Colleges

## **ARTICLE I - AUTHORITY**

The Business Affairs Commission is organized under the authority of the Washington Association of Community and Technical Colleges (WACTC).

The Commission shall be operated with the powers granted to it by WACTC.

### **ARTICLE II - NAME**

The name of the Commission shall be the Business Affairs Commission (BAC).

#### **ARTICLE III - PURPOSE**

- 1. Act on matters referred by the WACTC.
- 2. Provide institutional members the opportunity to assist each other with matters of common concern.
- 3. Work with agencies such as the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges, the, the Office of Financial Management, the State Auditor's Office, Department of Enterprise Services, Office of the State Treasurer and others with an interest in the business and financial operations of the community and technical colleges.
- 4. Develop and recommend uniform procedures to be followed by the member institutions in business affairs when such uniformity is mutually useful.
- 5. Consider any other subjects which may concern the business operations of the community and technical colleges.

### **ARTICLE IV - MEMBERSHIP**

Membership of the Business Affairs Commission shall consist of:

- 1. The chief business officer of each district and the business officer of each college in a multi-college district as designated by the respective president.
- 2. Advisory members may also be designated by the respective president, where colleges separate chief business officer duties, to represent areas of expertise relevant to the Business Affairs Commission. Advisory members are non-voting.

- 3. Associate members shall be as follows: one college President designated by WACTC and one each representative from the Bookstore Council, Budget, Accounting and Reporting (BAR) Council, Operations and Facilities Council (OFC), Purchasing Affairs Council (PAC), Safety Security and Emergency Management Council (SSEMC), Information Technology Commission (ITC), and Human Resources Management Commission (HRMC). In addition, staff representatives from the SBCTC shall attend as associate members. Associate members are non-voting.
- 4. In addition to regular, advisory and associate members, members of other commissions and councils may be invited to attend committee and subcommittee meetings on a non-voting basis.

#### **ARTICLE V - OFFICERS**

Officers of the Commission shall consist of:

- 1. Past Chairperson
- 2. Chairperson
- 3. Vice Chairperson
- 4. Secretary/Treasurer
- 5. The vice chairperson shall become chairperson and the secretary/treasurer shall become vice chairperson of the Commission upon the close of the first meeting following May 31 and shall serve for a one-year term.
- 6. The secretary/treasurer shall be elected for a term of one year by a simple majority vote of the quorum of the members.
- 7. The immediate past Chairperson, Chairperson, and Vice Chairperson shall form a nominating committee annually for the purpose of presenting name(s) of person(s) to be placed in nomination for Secretary/Treasurer.
- 8. The election shall be held at the first meeting following May 31.
- 9. Duties shall be those normally carried out by such officers.
- 10. In the event of a vacancy, during their term of office, of any officer(s), current officers shall move up one place as necessary (except for the past chairperson) to create a vacancy in the Secretary/Treasurer position. The nominating committee referred to in #6 above shall then confer and present the name(s) of person(s) to serve as the new Secretary/Treasurer to the membership at their next regularly scheduled meeting. The name(s) shall be presented for a vote of the membership at the next regularly scheduled meeting, and the new officers shall serve the balance of their terms.
- 11. Any officer not fulfilling the required commitment as identified by the executive committee will be removed from office.

### **ARTICLE VI - PROCEDURES**

- 1. All questions and decisions shall be decided by a simple majority vote of the quorum consisting of <sup>3</sup>/<sub>4</sub> of the nearest whole number of members.
- 2. Each of the 34 colleges shall be afforded one vote.
- 3. Voting BAC members may vote by proxy electronically or by designating a proxy with advance notice to the BAC chairperson.
- 4. The Commission shall meet at least one time each year and at such other times as is necessary to accomplish the work of the Commission.
- 5. The Commission shall establish such standing rules as it deems necessary.
- 6. The Commission shall establish such permanent or ad hoc committees as are required to carry on its work. Committees shall be established by the Chairperson from the membership of the Commission. Until revised, permanent committees shall be the Operations Committee, the Information Technology Committee, the Operating Budget Committee, the Capital Committee, and the Safety, Security and Emergency Management Committee. Committee work plans shall be developed by each Committee's membership on an annual basis.
- In the absence of any bylaw or written policy directing otherwise, <u>Roberts</u> <u>Rules of Order – Revised</u> shall be used to regulate the activities of this Commission.

# **ARTICLE VII - AMENDMENTS**

1. These bylaws may be amended at any official meeting of the BAC in accordance with Article VI above.