Skip to content

Community and technical college students to be recognized by trustees

January 23, 2023 by SBCTC Communications

OLYMPIA, Wash. — The Washington State Association of College Trustees (ACT) will honor 31 community and technical college students Monday night at its annual Transforming Lives awards ceremony, sponsored by College Spark Washington. The annual ceremony recognizes current and former students of community and technical colleges whose lives were transformed by attending their college. The winners were nominated by their college's board of trustees.

From the winners, ACT selected six as keynote speakers. This year's speakers are:

  • Mohamad Imran, Bellevue College
  • Rita Nichols, Cascadia College
  • Ryla Christianson, Columbia Basin College
  • Bessie Gordon-Verrett, Green River College
  • Lulu Yao, Lake Washington Institute of Technology
  • Eva Brown, Whatcom Community College

"Students care for their families, hold full-time jobs, and face financial hardships, but they never lose sight of their educational goals," Pat Shuman, ACT president and Tacoma Community College trustee, said. "Transforming Lives is one way we recognize our students and celebrate their incredible accomplishments."

The six keynote speakers will receive $500 from ACT, and the winners will receive $250.

The other Transforming Lives winners are:

  • Stacy Coffey, Bates Technical College
  • Julián Adame Núñez, Bellingham Technical College
  • Colton Reynolds, Big Bend Community College
  • Jennifer Massey, Centralia College
  • Leilani Towner, Clark College
  • Edward Barnes, Clover Park Technical College
  • Jennifer Cunningham, Edmonds College
  • Jake Avilla, Everett Community College
  • Alondra Diaz Merino, Grays Harbor College
  • Evgeniya Tulyaeva, Highline College
  • Vidal Villagran, Lower Columbia College
  • Richard Wilbur, Olympic College
  • Tim Atkisson, Peninsula College
  • Ciara Colon, Pierce College Fort Steilacoom
  • Brenda Rodriguez, Pierce College Puyallup
  • Abubacar Kanteh, Renton Technical College
  • Zubeir A. Abdi, Shoreline Community College
  • Silvia Herrera Avila, Skagit Valley College
  • Patricia Gonzalez, South Puget Sound Community College
  • Shawna Donaldson, Spokane Community College
  • Cierra Grove, Spokane Falls Community College
  • Michele Hart, Tacoma Community College
  • Catherine Katelnikoff, Walla Walla Community College
  • Eva Anaya-Luna, Wenatchee Valley College
  • Esmeralda Diera, Yakima Valley College
Last Modified: 12/12/23, 10:41 AM
starburst graphic