Skip to content

Board of Directors

Expand All

Bridget Piper photoPresident

Bridget Piper was appointed to the Community Colleges of Spokane Board of Trustees in 2010 and reappointed in 2015. Bridget retired from Sterling Bank, Spokane where she was the Vice President of Talent Management. She has a Master's degree in, Organizational Leadership from Gonzaga University and a Bachelor's degree in Education from the University of Kansas. She is the President for the Spokane Preservation Advocates Board, a Board Member for the Executive Committee of the Spokane Symphony Society Endowment, and a Board Member for Humanities Washington. Bridget is the former President for the Moore-Turner Heritage Gardens and member of the KPBX-FM, Capital Campaign Taskforce.

Jim Page photoPresident-Elect

Jim Page was appointed to the Olympic College Board of Trustees in 2011 and reappointed for a second term in 2015. He served as the Board Chair, 2014-15 and the Vice Chair, 2013-14. Jim is the President for KPS Health Plans. He has a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration with a concentration in accounting. He is the Founding Member, Current Board Member, and former President of the Kitsap Family YMCA Foundation. He is a former Board Member and President of the Hospice of Kitsap County and President for the Rotary Club of Silverdale and for the Olympic College Foundation.

Cathy Pearsall-StipekSecretary

Cathy Pearsal-Stipek was appointed to the Bates Technical College Board of Trustees in 2015. She was the president of Votes Count, Inc., a consulting and training business until her recent retirement. She has nearly 40 years in public service, representing the 29th district in the state legislature from 1977 to 1970; as a Tacoma School Board member from 1983 to 1989, where she oversaw the activities of school district-operated Bates; as a Pierce County council member from 1989 to 1993; and as Pierce County Auditor from 1993 to 2002. She was most recently elected to the county's Charter Review Commission. Cathy attended the University of Washington’s School of Education and School of Business Administration. An alumnus of Bates, she earned a certificate in Registration Parliamentarian in 1962.

Kedrich Jackson photoTreasurer

Kedrich Jackson was appointed to the Columbia Basin College Board of Trustees in 2012. He is an Enrolled Agent Tax Preparer/Business Consultant. He has a Master of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering. Kedrich is a current Board Member for the United Way, Board Member for the Perfect Image Leadership Foundation and Member of the National Association of Tax Preparers. He has served as the Alumni Chair for the National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE) and as a Member, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).


Jon Lane photoImmediate Past President

Jon Lane was appointed to the Big Bend Community College Board of Trustees in 2010 and reappointed in 2011 and 2016. Jon retired after 31 years as a teacher/administrator with the Washington State Public Schools. He served on the Moses Lake City Council, is a member of the Economic Development Council, and is the former mayor for the city. He has an Associate in Arts from Big Bend Big Bend Community College, a Bachelor of Arts in Education from Central Washington University, and a Curriculum and Instruction & Principal certifications from Eastern Washington University.

Carl ZaporaMember at Large

Carl Zapora was appointed to the Edmonds Community College Board of Trustees in 2013 and reappointed in 2016. Carl was superintendent of Public Hospital District No. 2, Snohomish County and Verdant Health Commission. Carl earned his Bachelor of Science in accounting at Albright College. Carl is a current Board Member for Edmonds Chamber of Commerce, Advisory Board Member, University of Washington Bothell, Molina Healthcare of Washington. Also, past Member of Everett Downtown Rotary. 

Robert Ryan Member at Large

Bob was appointed to the Tacoma Community College Board of Trustee in 2010, reappointed October, 2012. Bob was appointed Vice Chair in 2014-15, and Board Chair in 2015-16. Bob earned his BS at University of Puget Sound. He is a current member of Washington Society of CPAs, American Rotary Club of Gig Harbor. Bob is the Former Founder and President of Peninsula Schools Education Foundation, Steering Community for St. Anthony's Hospital, and Chairman of the Narrows Bridge Citizen Advisory Committee.

Judy HartmannLegislative Action Committee Co-Chair

Beth Thew was appointed to the Community College of Spokane Board of Trustees in 2013. Appointed Board Vice Chair in 2015 and Board Chair in 2017. Beth earned her Bachelor of Arts Degree in Liberal Studies at Eastern Washington University. Currently working for Washington State Workforce Training and Education Coordinating Board. Beth is a Member of the Order of the Eastern Star, Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 51.

Toraya Miller Legislative Action Committee Co-Chair

Toraya Miller was appointed to Everett Community College in 2015. Toraya studied at University of Washington Pacific Coast Bankers, American Bankers Association National Graduate School of Compliance Risk Management and American Bankers Association National Intermediate Compliance at DeAnza Community College.  Currently Toraya is Vice President and Internal Auditor at Coastal Community Bank, and former Assistant Vice President and Audit Project Manager at Frontier Bank.

Page Manager:
Last Modified: 4/26/18 1:39 PM

starburst graphic