Skip to content

Committee for Accessible Technology (CATO) Charge

To develop guidelines and provide ongoing advice and support to institutions and members of the Washington Community and Technical College system, which promote sustainable and proactive practices for the effective and integrated access by all members of our college communities to current, emerging, and future technologies in compliance with federal, state, and system laws and policies. 1


Membership consists of:

  • Two members of the following WACTC groups, appointed for 2-year terms by SBCTC Executive Director:
  • Two CTC faculty members, appointed at large for 2-year terms, appointed by SBCTC Executive Director.
  • Three SBCTC staff, one each from Information Technology Division, Department of eLearning, and Department of Student Services, appointed for indefinite terms by SBCTC Executive Director; two of these staff will have Committee voting privileges in any given year.
  • Ex Officio members selected at the discretion of the Committee Chair.


Selected by a majority vote of the Committee Membership on an annual basis.


A minimum of three meetings per academic year (fall, winter, spring); summer meeting at discretion of Committee Chair.


All appointed Committee members vote; two SBCTC staff will have voting privileges; business is conducted by Roberts Rules, simple majority rule.


An annual report presented in writing to the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges and at a meeting of the State Board at its discretion, disseminated also to the SBCTC Executive Director and the Washington Association for Community and Technical Colleges (WACTC). The report should summarize annual committee Work Plan progress.

1  Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973; the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990 and Amendments Act (ADAA) of 2008; Washington State Core Services RCW 28B.10.910-916; SBCTC Accessible Technology Policy 3.20.30B; Washington State OCIO Policy 188 - Accessibility

Page Manager:
Last Modified: 2/7/22, 5:21 PM

starburst graphic