Skip to content

Community and technical college students recognized at Transforming Lives ceremony

January 22, 2019 by SBCTC Communications

OLYMPIA, Wash. — The Washington State Association of College Trustees (ACT) honored 34 community and technical college students Monday night at its annual Transforming Lives awards ceremony. The annual ceremony recognizes current and former students of community and technical colleges whose lives were transformed by attending their college. The winners were nominated by their college's board of trustees.

From the winners, ACT selected five as keynote speakers. Each also received $500 from the association. This year's winners are:

  • Arma Carneh, Bates Technical College
  • Esmeralda “Vita” Blanco, Clark College
  • Michelle Grunder, Edmonds Community College
  • Joseph Barboza, Olympic College
  • Rachelle Himmelman, Skagit Valley College

"Students overcome life's obstacles every day, and we're proud to support them," said Jim Page, ACT president and trustee at Olympic College in Bremerton. "Transforming Lives is a way we can recognize 34 outstanding current and former students as they achieve their goals."

Other Transforming Lives winners are:

  • Esther Iiyambo, Bellevue College
  • Jaylyn Boydon, Bellingham Technical College
  • Jim Leland, Big Bend Community College
  • Jordan Barde, Cascadia College
  • Jaima Kortlever, Centralia College
  • Heather Morgan, Clover Park Technical College
  • Maria Mayorquin, Columbia Basin College
  • Marwa Alwattar, Everett Community College
  • Roina Maafala, Grays Harbor College
  • Danielle Kies, Green River College
  • Cynthia Wambui, Highline College
  • Naira Harutyunyan, Lake Washington Institute of Technology
  • Gordon Bolar, Lower Columbia College
  • Fernanda Jardim de Souza, North Seattle College
  • Leo Gonzales, Peninsula College
  • Anna “Christa” Hanson, Pierce College Fort Steilacoom
  • Randy Simpson, Pierce College Puyallup
  • Anna White, Renton Technical College
  • Oloth Insyxiengmay, Seattle Central College
  • Jake Powell, Shoreline Community College
  • Eliab Cortes, South Puget Sound Community College
  • Kaylin Clarke, South Seattle College
  • Randy McReynolds, Spokane Community College
  • Eryn Smith, Spokane Falls Community College
  • Christopher Oliver, Tacoma Community College
  • Juan Gaytan, Walla Walla Community College
  • Maribel Garibay, Wenatchee Valley College
  • Steve Gnyp, Whatcom Community College
  • Gabriela Martinez, Yakima Valley College
Last Modified: 12/12/23, 10:40 AM
starburst graphic