Skip to content

Joint Transfer Council

The Joint Transfer Council (JTC) is a standing committee that meets about four times a year with representatives from the public and independent academic degree-granting institutions and the Washington Student Achievement Council. JTC works on behalf of the institutions represented by the membership. It works in collaboration – and has formal communication with – the Executive Committee of the Intercollege Relations Commission (ICRC).

Key Joint Transfer Council Strategies

  • The Joint Transfer Council convenes the workgroups that develop Major Related Program agreements.
  • Developing a statewide communication strategy related to transfer.
  • Describe the state's transfer policy for various audiences.


Joint Transfer Council (JTC) members from each of the public baccalaureate institutions are generally vice provosts of academic affairs; a Council of Presidents (COP) staff member also serves. Independent colleges and universities are represented by registration and academic planning offices; the president of Independent Colleges of Washington (ICW) also serves. The community and technical colleges are represented by eight vice presidents of instruction or student services; a State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) staff member also serves.

Washington Transfer Network

Transfer policy is implemented and maintained through the cooperative efforts of the state institutions of higher education, the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) and the Washington Student Achievement Council with support and guidance of statewide within-sector and cross-sector groups and offices involved in transfer policy implementation.

Agreements Developed by the Joint Transfer Council

Joint Transfer Council Publications

Page Manager:
Last Modified: 4/21/17 2:50 PM