Skip to content

Washington Community and Technical Colleges American Indian Indigenous Studies Advisory Board (WCAAB)

Purpose

The primary responsibility of the Washington Community and Technical Colleges American Indian Indigenous Studies Advisory Board (WCAAB) is to develop a statewide community and technical colleges strategic plan. Through sustainable Government to Government (G2G) relations and tribal consultation, this plan will expand space for Indigenous knowledges throughout the following educational pathways:

  • Academic transfer
  • Basic adult education
  • Career and technical education
  • Workforce development

To address American Indian disparities in higher education, our primary aim is to expand pathways for Tribal students, adults, and workforce development within Washington's higher education opportunities. This includes building institutional capacity to increase American Indian knowledge through curriculum development and the recruitment of American Indian faculty and staff. We work to create space for Tribal Community Scholars and Wisdom Keepers in traditional western academy so that all faculty, staff, students, and communities will learn local history, governance, and culture. To realize place-based knowledge is to learn the historical context from local Tribes and their connections to the land where we work, live, and play.

Recruitment Goal

In one year, we recruited 26 community educators from Washington's community and technical colleges, universities, Indigenous faculty, higher education advisory professionals, American Indian K-12 education organizations, Tribal business and health sectors, and Tribal leaders.

COLLECTIVELY, WCAAB has adopted advisory board bylaws and created a statewide comprehensive strategic plan. We look forward to reducing racial inequities, promoting social justice initiatives, and facilitating productive relationships between Washington’s 34 community and technical colleges and 29 Federally Recognized Tribes.

WCAAB Executive Board Members

Board Role Name Title/Organization Email
Co-Chair Elect Robert Britten Executive Director, Diversity and Equity Officers Commission (DEOC), Lake Washington Institute of Technology robert.britten@lwtech.edu
Co-Chair Elect

Kris Peters
(Squaxin Island Tribe)

Chairman of Squaxin Island Tribe, Evergreen State College Board of Trustees kpeters@squaxin.us
Co-Member-At-Large Vik Bahl English Faculty; Former DEI Co-Chair & Founding Faculty; Native American Work Group (NAWG), Green River Community College vbahl@greenriver.edu
Co-Member-At-Large Jessica Porter
(Chinook Nation)
Co-Executive Director, Pacific County Voices Uniting (non-profit) Former Student Services, State Board of Community & Technical Colleges (SBCTC) jessicamarieporter@gmail.com
Co-Member-At-Large Glenda Breiler
(Colville Tribe)
Director, Tribal Government Affairs, State Board of Community & Technical Colleges (SBCTC) gbreiler@sbctc.edu
Co-Member-At-Large Sophia Agtarap Director of Equity Diversity and Inclusion, State Board of Community & Technical Colleges (SBCTC) sagtarap@sbctc.edu

WCAAB Board Members

Name Title Organization Email
Anna Armstrong
(Kalispel Tribe)
President and Director

Washington State Indian Education Association (WSIEA)

Director of Education at Kalispel Tribe

aarmstrong@kalispeltribe.com
Vik Bahl Professor English Faculty; Former DEI Co-Chair; NAWG-Native American Work Group, Green River Community College vbahl@greenriver.edu
Denise Bill
(Muckleshoot Tribe)
Director Muckleshoot Tribal College denise.bill@muckleshoot.nsn.us
Maya Esquivido Program Manager State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) mesquivido@sbctc.edu
Chio Flores Vice President for Student Services WSSSC, Wenatchee Valley College cflores@wvc.edu
Leonard Forsman
(Suquamish Tribe)
  WA Tribal Leader; Tribal Leaders Congress for Education (TLC-WA); ATNI-Affiliated Tribes of the Northwest Indians (ATNI) (WA/ID/OR/MT); University of Washington Board of Regents (UW BOR) lforsman@suquamish.nsn.us
Paul Francis Executive Director State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) pfrancis@sbctc.edu
Yoshiko Harden President WACTC Board of Presidents; Renton Technical College yharden@rtc.edu
Tleena Ives
(Port Gamble S'Klallam Tribe)
Director  DCYF Indian Policy Early Learning tleena.ives@dcyf.wa.gov
Jaclyn Jacot Dean Workforce Education Council (WEC) and Extended Learning and Workforce Initiatives, Community Colleges of Spokane jaclyn.jacot@scc.spokane.edu
Ty Juvinel Coastal Artist/Storyteller Tulalip Tribe juv5510@gmail.com
Kerry Levett Vice President of Instruction Instruction Commission (IC), Cascadia College klevett@cascadia.edu
Victor Begay Faculty and Tribal Liaison Cascadia Community College vbegay@cascadia.edu
Keri Lobdell Dean  Library and Instructional Services Columbia Basin College klobdell@columbiabasin.edu
Jonathan J. Arakawa Linguist/Student Lower Elwa Klallam  
Tanya Powers Associate Dean BAS and Workforce Pathways, Highline Community College tpowers@highline.edu
Carli Schiffner President Grays Harbor College  
Christopher Teuton
(Cherokee Nation)
Professor UW CAIIS Center for American Indian Indigenous Studies teuton@uw.edu
Monica Wilson Director Student Success Center and Strategic Initiatives, State Board of Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) mwilson@sbctc.edu
Leander Yazzie Student Success and Native Student Advisor Student Success & Native Pathways, Native American Work Group (NAWG), Green River Community College lyazzie@greenriver.edu

Contacts

Glenda Breiler
Director, Tribal Government Affairs
gbreiler@sbctc.edu
360-724-3782

Maya Esquivido
Program Manager
mesquivido@sbctc.edu
916-396-0220

Courtnay Llacuna
Administrative Assistant
cllacuna@sbctc.edu
360-704-4317

 

Calendar

starburst graphic