Skip to content

Washington Community and Technical Colleges American Indian Indigenous Studies Advisory Board (WCAAB)


The primary responsibility of the Washington Community and Technical Colleges American Indian Indigenous Studies Advisory Board (WCAAB) is to develop a statewide community and technical colleges strategic plan. Through sustainable Government to Government (G2G) relations and tribal consultation, this plan will expand space for Indigenous knowledges throughout the following educational pathways:

  • Academic transfer
  • Basic adult education
  • Career and technical education
  • Workforce development

To address American Indian disparities in higher education, our primary aim is to expand pathways for Tribal students, adults, and workforce development within Washington's higher education opportunities. This includes building institutional capacity to increase American Indian knowledge through curriculum development and the recruitment of American Indian faculty and staff. We work to create space for Tribal Community Scholars and Wisdom Keepers in traditional western academy so that all faculty, staff, students, and communities will learn local history, governance, and culture. To realize place-based knowledge is to learn the historical context from local Tribes and their connections to the land where we work, live, and play.

Recruitment Goal

In one year, we recruited 26 community educators from Washington's community and technical colleges, universities, Indigenous faculty, higher education advisory professionals, American Indian K-12 education organizations, Tribal business and health sectors, and Tribal leaders.

COLLECTIVELY, WCAAB has adopted advisory board bylaws and created a statewide comprehensive strategic plan. We look forward to reducing racial inequities, promoting social justice initiatives, and facilitating productive relationships between Washington’s 34 community and technical colleges and 29 Federally Recognized Tribes.

WCAAB Executive Board Members

Board Role Name Title/Organization Email
Co-Chair Elect Robert Britten Executive Director, Diversity and Equity Officers Commission (DEOC), Lake Washington Institute of Technology
Co-Chair Elect

Kris Peters
(Squaxin Island Tribe)

Chairman of Squaxin Island Tribe, Evergreen State College Board of Trustees
Co-Member-At-Large Vik Bahl English Faculty; Former DEI Co-Chair & Founding Faculty; Native American Work Group (NAWG), Green River Community College
Co-Member-At-Large Jessica Porter
(Chinook Nation)
Co-Executive Director, Pacific County Voices Uniting (non-profit) Former Student Services, State Board of Community & Technical Colleges (SBCTC)
Co-Member-At-Large Glenda Breiler
(Colville Tribe)
Director, Tribal Government Affairs, State Board of Community & Technical Colleges (SBCTC)
Co-Member-At-Large Sophia Agtarap Director of Equity Diversity and Inclusion, State Board of Community & Technical Colleges (SBCTC)

WCAAB Board Members

Name Title Organization Email
Anna Armstrong
(Kalispel Tribe)
President and Director

Washington State Indian Education Association (WSIEA)

Director of Education at Kalispel Tribe
Vik Bahl Professor English Faculty; Former DEI Co-Chair; NAWG-Native American Work Group, Green River Community College
Denise Bill
(Muckleshoot Tribe)
Director Muckleshoot Tribal College
Maya Esquivido Program Manager State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC)
Chio Flores Vice President for Student Services WSSSC, Wenatchee Valley College
Leonard Forsman
(Suquamish Tribe)
  WA Tribal Leader; Tribal Leaders Congress for Education (TLC-WA); ATNI-Affiliated Tribes of the Northwest Indians (ATNI) (WA/ID/OR/MT); University of Washington Board of Regents (UW BOR)
Paul Francis Executive Director State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC)
Yoshiko Harden President WACTC Board of Presidents; Renton Technical College
Tleena Ives
(Port Gamble S'Klallam Tribe)
Director  DCYF Indian Policy Early Learning
Jaclyn Jacot Dean Workforce Education Council (WEC) and Extended Learning and Workforce Initiatives, Community Colleges of Spokane
Ty Juvinel Coastal Artist/Storyteller Tulalip Tribe
Kerry Levett Vice President of Instruction Instruction Commission (IC), Cascadia College
Victor Begay Faculty and Tribal Liaison Cascadia Community College
Keri Lobdell Dean  Library and Instructional Services Columbia Basin College
Jonathan J. Arakawa Linguist/Student Lower Elwa Klallam  
Tanya Powers Associate Dean BAS and Workforce Pathways, Highline Community College
Carli Schiffner President Grays Harbor College  
Christopher Teuton
(Cherokee Nation)
Professor UW CAIIS Center for American Indian Indigenous Studies
Monica Wilson Director Student Success Center and Strategic Initiatives, State Board of Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC)
Leander Yazzie Student Success and Native Student Advisor Student Success & Native Pathways, Native American Work Group (NAWG), Green River Community College


Glenda Breiler
Director, Tribal Government Affairs

Maya Esquivido
Program Manager

Courtnay Llacuna
Administrative Assistant



starburst graphic