Skip to content

Aerospace and Advanced Materials Manufacturing Pipeline Advisory Committee

A Call to Action

The Aerospace and Advanced Materials Manufacturing Pipeline Advisory Committee was established in statute in 2012 to study the skills gap in aerospace workers production.   

Responsibilities include:

  • Provide current information on training programs.
  • Provide current information about grants and partnership opportunities.
  • Coordinate professional development for faculty.
  • Evaluate programs for completion and job placement rates.

Committee Meeting

Committee meetings are open to the public and college system. Aerospace/advanced manufacturing program faculty/staff are encouraged to attend.

For more information about meetings (agendas, accessibility, and so on) please contact Genevieve Howard.

Current Report

Aerospace Pipeline Report, November 2020

Related laws

RCW 28B.50.903: Coordination and alignment of aerospace training programs — aerospace and advanced materials manufacturing pipeline advisory committee

Committee Members

Industry representatives

  • Ben Hempstead, Teague
  • Emily Wittman, Aerospace Futures Alliance
  • Erica Beckstorm, First Washington
  • Jackie Davis, AMI Metals Inc.
  • Justin McCaffree, The Boeing Company
  • Rosemary Brester, Hobart Machined Products Inc.
  • Scott Kennedy, Alaska Airlines
  • Hilevy Koger, Blue Origin, LLC

Education representatives

  • Larry Cluphf, Washington Aerospace Training & Research Center
  • Lin Zhou, Bates Technical College
  • Lynn Strickland, Aerospace Joint Apprenticeship Program
  • Suzanne Johnson, Green River College

Labor representatives

  • Shana Peschek, IMA 751

Ex-officio members

  • Bill Keough, University of Washington
  • Paul Francis, Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges
  • Marcia Garrett, Washington State University
  • Jason Petrait, Center of Excellence for Aerospace & Advanced Materials Manufacturing
  • Rebecca Wallace, Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Robin Toth, Washington State Department of Commerce

Committee staff

  • Genevieve Howard, Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges
  • Dave Wallace, Workforce Training and Education Coordinating Board
  • Marie Bruin, Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges
  • Karin Gitchel, Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges

Committee Meeting

  • Date: Wednesday, November 1, 2023
  • Time: 1:00 - 3:00 p.m. 
  • Location: Bates Technical College - South Campus (2201 S. 78th, Tacoma WA 98409)
  • Meeting Modality: In-person tour and Zoom option during business portions (contact Karin Gitchel for link)

This meeting is open to the public. Please contact Genevieve Howard at 360-704-3990, should you require accommodations in order to participate.

Future Meetings

February 28, 2024 - Virtual (Zoom)
May 15, 2024 - Hybrid (In-person location to be determined/Zoom)

Past Meetings

June 2023 Meeting Packet 
March 2023 Meeting Packet
June 2022 Meeting Packet
March 2022 Meeting Packet
September 2021 Meeting Packet
May 2021 Meeting Packet 
Industry Trends and Financial Indicators 
Enrollment Updates, Winter 2021
February 2021 Meeting Packet 
November 2020 Meeting Packet 
October 2020 Meeting agenda 
October 2020 Meeting Packet 
June 2020 Meeting agenda
March 2020 Meeting Packet

For more information about meetings, contact Genevieve Howard

Page Manager:
Last Modified: 9/22/23, 10:35 AM

starburst graphic