Skip to content

Supporting Students Experiencing Homelessness (SSEH) Program

Supporting Students Experiencing Homelessness (SSEH) Program

The Supporting Students Experiencing Homelessness (SSEH) Pilot was established in 2019, when the Washington state Legislature passed Second Substitute Senate Bill 5800 concerning homeless college students. The pilot was expanded by Substitute House Bill 1166 in 2021 and again with a temporary budget proviso in 2022. The program is administered by the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges and the Washington Student Achievement Council.  The SSEH pilot grew from four community and technical college (CTC) programs and two university sector programs in fiscal year 2019-20 to include 27 community and technical college programs and all 6 public baccalaureate institutions by fiscal year 2022-23. During the 2023 session, the Legislature made the SSEH program permanent through passage of ESSB 5702. 

As codified in RCW 28B.50.916, participating community and technical colleges may implement programs to assist students experiencing homelessness and those who were in foster care at the time of high school completion.  Participating colleges are responsible for providing accommodations and services to eligible students that may include, but are not limited to, the following: housing and food assistance; access to laundry, shower facilities, secure storage, technology, and mailstop; and case management services.

Colleges may also establish plans to develop surplus property for affordable housing to accommodate the needs of eligible students. Participating colleges must also provide information to students on existing community resources for individuals experiencing homelessness and contribute to a joint annual report facilitated by the SBCTC to the appropriate committees of the Legislature. 

Participating Colleges

(as of FY 23-24)

  • Bellevue College
  • Bellingham Technical College
  • Big Bend Community College
  • Cascadia College
  • Centralia College
  • Clark College
  • Columbia Basin College
  • Edmonds College
  • Everett Community College
  • Grays Harbor College
  • Green River College
  • Highline College
  • Lake WA Institute of Technology
  • Lower Columbia College
  • North Seattle College
  • Olympic College
  • Pierce College District
  • Renton Technical College
  • Seattle Central College
  • Shoreline Community College
  • Spokane Community College
  • Spokane Falls Community College
  • South Puget Sound Community College
  • Tacoma Community College
  • Walla Walla Community College
  • Wenatchee Valley College
  • Yakima Valley Community College


Christine McMullin
Policy Associate, Student Services; Student Support Programs

Laura Coghlan
Program Administrator,  SSEH Pilot Program


Page Manager:
Last Modified: 1/30/24, 4:43 PM

starburst graphic